Sunday, February 3, 2008

Writer's Block: The Beatles go "Across the Universe"

Something for Beatles fans out there:
The National Aeronautics and Space Administration
(NASA) said it will broadcast the Beatles' "Across the Universe" towards the North Star to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the day the British group recorded the song, as well as the 50th anniversary of NASA's founding.
According to NASA, the broadcast will start at 0000 GMT Tuesday and will travel toward the Little Dipper constellation's brightest star at the speed of light, or 307,000 kilometers (186,000 miles) per second. It is scheduled to reach the North Star in 431 years.
The song, recorded in February 1968, was composed by John Lennon while he was busy ignoring his then wife, Cynthia.
The Sanskrit phrase is said to translate to "salutations to the guru".
Anyway, here's the schedule for wherever you're gonna be:

Feb 4th 3pm Anchorage
Feb 4th 4pm Los Angeles
Feb 4th 5pm Guatemala
Feb 4th 6pm Chicago
Feb 4th 7pm New York
Feb 4th 7pm Montreal
Feb 4th 8pm Rio de Janeiro
Feb 4th 11
pm Reykjavik
Feb 5th 12.00am Liverpool & London

Feb 5th 01.00am Europe
Feb 5th 02.00am Baghdad
Feb 5th 03.00am Moscow
Feb 5th 04.00am Karachi
Feb 5th 05.00am Dhaka
Feb 5th 06.00am Bangkok

Feb 5th 07.00am Shanghai, Manila, Baguio
Feb 5th 08.00am Tokyo

Feb 5th 09.00am Sydney
Feb 5th 10.00am Vladivostok
Feb 5th 11.00am Su
va
Feb 5th 12.00am Auckland

Feb 5th 01.00am Kiritimati